The Bible isn’t Unilaterally Authoritative

All of the Bible is inspired by God, but does that mean it all has equal authority? This is the question that Boyd answers in his sermon ‘God’s Shadow Activity‘.

 

The shadows of the cross point to the cross just as my shadow points to me. However, they don’t reveal God in their content, but in their contrast. They show how far God was willing to stoop to bear the sin of his people by allowing them to project their law-focused nationalist violent image of what God should be onto him; and thereby appearing uglier than he really is.

 

You can only see how a shadow points to the reality if you accept a shadow is a shadow, and that it contrasts with the reality it is a shadow of. My shadow isn’t me. It tells you something about me, but doesn’t contain any of the colour and detail. You can’t see my chiseled jaw, or my stunning eyes by looking at my shadow! If you think my shadow is me (or part of me) then you’ll think I’m a different person; a person with two sides.

 

What would you think of me if you thought my shadow was to be considered as much a part of me as my actual body is?

 

You’d think I have two personalities! In the same way the law-focused nationalist violent images of God in the OT can’t be held alongside the God revealed on the cross like they are different aspects of the same deity. The shadows are negative contrasts. They point to God, but don’t his true nature; and, as such, are inspired, but not as authoritative.

Leave a Reply

